OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 3:46 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: My TI-Basic Compiler
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:40 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
I've written a simple TI-Basic compiler.

It basically tokenises TI-Basic programs written on a computer into the calculator's program format, which can then be executed on the calculator.

It's site is up at [url]http//www.sf.net/projects/tibasic[/url].

It's made for those with TI-83, TI-83+ and TI-84+ calculators, and I need testing for it so I know what to fix before I write the decompiler (and add in some more features).

_________________
Pedigree | GitHub | Twitter | LinkedIn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My TI-Basic Compiler
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 8:31 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
Posts: 2293
Location: USA (and Australia)
pcmattman wrote:
It's made for those with TI-83, TI-83+ and TI-84+ calculators, and I need testing for it so I know what to fix before I write the decompiler (and add in some more features).


Are you writing a compiler for a calculator for which you do not own? [-X

_________________
My OS is Perception.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: My TI-Basic Compiler
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 11:05 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 1466
Location: Noricum and Pannonia
MessiahAndrw wrote:
pcmattman wrote:
It's made for those with TI-83, TI-83+ and TI-84+ calculators, and I need testing for it so I know what to fix before I write the decompiler (and add in some more features).


Are you writing a compiler for a calculator for which you do not own? [-X

You could use an emulator...Although, if you don't own one, you would be without a ROM...Maybe you could start the Free TI-83 ROM project...

_________________
C8H10N4O2 | #446691 | Trust the nodes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:22 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
I own a TI-84+, but I would like others to test the compiler. They don't know it as well as I do and are more likely to find bugs.

_________________
Pedigree | GitHub | Twitter | LinkedIn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 10:02 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Posts: 9301
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
I own a TI-83, but I lack the hardware necessary to link it to the computer.

Besides, if I want to run games or anything more serious on it i just write it manually myself. That and I like the "autocompletion" feature present on this thing :twisted:

_________________
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:47 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
I just uploaded the Linux port of the compiler...

_________________
Pedigree | GitHub | Twitter | LinkedIn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:56 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 2426
Location: Canada
pcmattman wrote:
I just uploaded the Linux port of the compiler...

I think you should know that the archive you uploaded is named linux_tibasic_1_1.tar.gz but the actual archive is in the RAR file format.

Some people cannot use that format.. Can you actually release a tarball that's gzipped instead of renaming a RAR?

(Does the archive contain the source.. or is it a Linux binary?)

_________________
Image
Twitter: @canadianbryan. Award by smcerm, I stole it. Original was larger.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 6:23 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Whoops... I just knew something was wrong, I was rushed so I didn't properly compress it (rushed job).

It contains the binary.

I'll release a gzipped binary ASAP...

_________________
Pedigree | GitHub | Twitter | LinkedIn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 7:12 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Brynet-Inc wrote:
pcmattman wrote:
I just uploaded the Linux port of the compiler...

I think you should know that the archive you uploaded is named linux_tibasic_1_1.tar.gz but the actual archive is in the RAR file format.

Some people cannot use that format.. Can you actually release a tarball that's gzipped instead of renaming a RAR?

(Does the archive contain the source.. or is it a Linux binary?)


Ok, the real tarred and gzipped version is up now. Sorry about that!

_________________
Pedigree | GitHub | Twitter | LinkedIn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:41 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 1466
Location: Noricum and Pannonia
I can't test the output on an actual calculator, but it does run and seems to output appropriate data.

I'm on a 64-bit Gentoo 2006.1 box. (Too lazy to upgrade.)

_________________
C8H10N4O2 | #446691 | Trust the nodes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:29 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
It works on 64-bit? It's made for 32-bit... Now I'll have to test it on 32-bit linux.

*Pulls out Ubuntu live CD*

_________________
Pedigree | GitHub | Twitter | LinkedIn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:56 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 1466
Location: Noricum and Pannonia
pcmattman wrote:
It works on 64-bit? It's made for 32-bit... Now I'll have to test it on 32-bit linux.

64-bit Linux can still run 32-bit programs.

_________________
C8H10N4O2 | #446691 | Trust the nodes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 6:03 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
That I did not know. Interesting.

_________________
Pedigree | GitHub | Twitter | LinkedIn


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group