OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 12:53 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: .NET version in Visual Studio 2005
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:36 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 275
Location: Brisbane Australia
I need to change the .NET version in Visual Studio to .NET 1.1, How do I do it?

_________________
Image
Microsoft: "let everyone run after us. We'll just INNOV~1"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:43 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:55 am
Posts: 416
Location: Wisconsin
What do you mean change? You mean as in upgrading or chaning the Version Information block in the PE file? Be more specific please.

_________________
On the field with sword and shield amidst the din of dying of men's wails. War is waged and the battle will rage until only the righteous prevails.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:48 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 275
Location: Brisbane Australia
no I mean compile to .NET 1.1

_________________
Image
Microsoft: "let everyone run after us. We'll just INNOV~1"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:44 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2646
Location: Devon, UK
Try http://www.icsharpcode.net/OpenSource/SD/Default.aspx if you don't mind using a non-microsoft IDE. The various #develop versions will let you use v1.0, 1.1 or 2 of the .NET framework.

Note that the MS .NET compilers are all free to download from microsoft and part of the SDKs, so you can always download them and compile from the command line if nothing else...

Cheers,
Adam


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:48 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 275
Location: Brisbane Australia
So can't VS do it.

_________________
Image
Microsoft: "let everyone run after us. We'll just INNOV~1"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:06 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2646
Location: Devon, UK
Some quick googling revealed: http://janmoons.blogspot.com/2006/01/visual-studio-2005-cannot-compile-net.html

It seems that there was a website offering an IDE update to allow it, but the download has been taken down. Most people seem to think that VS2003 is tied to .NET 1.1 and VS2005 is tied to .NET 2.0.

Adam


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:49 am
Posts: 1
Location: Cairo - Egypt
The binding to a specific .NET framework is done when running the application and by default it uses the latest runtime installed on the machine.
you can force a specific .NET framework version if you didn't use any features that were not found in .NET 2.0 (such as generics) and added a <supportedRuntime> or a <requiredRuntime> elements in the application's configuration file.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group