OSDev.org
https://forum.osdev.org/

My OS can only see ~3 GiB
https://forum.osdev.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=57179
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 4:05 pm ]
Post subject:  My OS can only see ~3 GiB

My 64 Bit OS can only detect ~3-3.5 GiB ram
If I use VBox it sees 3.5G if I use Qemu it only sees 3G
My bootloader uses the INT 0x15, EAX = 0xE820 method to detect ram

I have no other information, and am lost im this mess.

Author:  Octocontrabass [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Are you collecting the entire memory map?

Are you reading all 64 bits of the addresses?

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

I belive so, I send peramitors to the bios and send a pointer to the result to the kernel

Author:  Octocontrabass [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Have you tried looking at the memory map? Like, by printing it or something?

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Yes, not priting the full thing but i did a print out of lengths and it shows exactly why my OS detects

I am trying to work throught my boot code and do some checks there but I still have not found a solution

Author:  Octocontrabass [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

How much RAM did you configure in those VMs?

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

i have tride at 4G but am curently trying with 8G
I have tride between 32M and 24G in Vbox yet it only works up to 3.5G

Author:  Octocontrabass [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Can you print the whole memory map and share it?

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Also VBox will freeze during initiation of page tables when its using more than 3GiB
And I just noticed it crashes if I use exactly 2G

This is only in VBox

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Octocontrabass wrote:
Can you print the whole memory map and share it?

I can try but I will need to try to fix my crash problem too, as it messes with output

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 5:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

VBox halts apon:
Code:
gas("movq %0, %%cr3" : : "r" (pt) :);

when I am using more than 1G ram

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 6:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Does VBox not suport 1GiB pages???

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 6:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

well iv figured out vbox, but not why i cant see more memory hm

Author:  Octocontrabass [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 6:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Xeno wrote:
Does VBox not suport 1GiB pages???

It's an optional feature, you need to check CPUID before you try to use it.

Author:  Xeno [ Fri Mar 22, 2024 6:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: My OS can only see ~3 GiB

Octocontrabass wrote:
Xeno wrote:
Does VBox not suport 1GiB pages???

It's an optional feature, you need to check CPUID before you try to use it.

I realized
my code is bad -_-
Im still not able to fuigure out the first problem

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/